The sexual assault laws in Texas are particular in that there are defined ways to determine if someone has been a victim of a sexual assault. Sexual assaults can also be raised to aggravated sexual assault, an elevated charge, if any harm comes to the victim during the crime, if drugs were used or if a deadly weapon was used, among other factors.
As someone accused of sexual assault, you’ll need to be careful about what you say and how you act. You need to work with your attorney on a defense that represents you in the best light. You may be able to defend yourself using one of these defenses below, or you may be able to find one that better suits your situation and works to your benefit.
If you had the lack of intent or knowledge of the crime, then it could be said that you didn’t know it took place or that you didn’t intent to touch a child inappropriately. If the child in question was 14 or older and you were within three years in age of the child, then you may also be able to use that as a defense.
If the alleged victim was a child but also your spouse at the time of the alleged sexual assault, that can be used as a defense. For medical circumstances, if the child was touched for medical purposes, then that can be a strong defense in your favor. Sexual assault can lead to up to 20 years in state prison and fines of up to $10,000.
Source: FindLaw, “Texas Sexual Assault Laws,” accessed Oct. 29, 2015