The laws of the state you're in during an arrest make a serious difference in regards to how you're charged. In the case that you're stopped for having marijuana on your person, Texas is not necessarily the state you want to be in. It is still not legal in Texas, and there is a maximum penalty of 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $2,000 if you're found to have two ounces or less of the drug in your possession.
In the case that you were selling marijuana, selling just seven grams, a quarter ounce, can result in up to 180 days in prison and up to $2,000 in fines. Selling over 50 pounds could result in a prison sentence of 99 years. It's a felony to sell over 50 pounds of marijuana in the state of Texas. Selling any amount of marijuana, no matter how small, to a minor can lead to a prison sentence of up to 20 years and a felony on your record.
Possessing two ounces or less is a Class B misdemeanor, while up to four ounces is a Class A misdemeanor. If you have up to five pounds of marijuana in your possession, you face a state jail felony, and between five and 50 pounds is a 3rd degree felony.
Fortunately, there are ways to defend yourself if you are arrested for possessing or selling drugs. Whether it's hash oil concentrates or a single bud, you have the right to an attorney who can help you defend yourself against unfair penalties.
Source: FindLaw, "Texas Marijuana Laws," accessed Dec. 30, 2016