Drunk driving is a crime that isn't looked upon lightly in Texas. While laws vary significantly depending on what happened in the case, charges brought against a person accused of drunk driving could impact him or her for the long-term. The person might be unable to work or have his or her family or social life affected.
It's important to start defending yourself against drunk driving charges right away, since failing to do so could put you at a higher risk of suffering penalties you may not deserve. With your attorney, you may be able to negotiate down penalties or have your case dismissed if you can provide evidence that your case has been handled inappropriately.
One particularly difficult case to deal with is a case of vehicular homicide. If you were intoxicated at the time when you were involved in an accident, you could be accused of vehicular homicide if the other party passes away. It doesn't matter if you intended for the accident to happen or not; the charge can still be filed against you.
In Texas, you can face up to 20 years in prison for this charge. The minimum sentence is two years, a significant difference. According to Texas law, intoxication manslaughter is a second-degree felony and can also lead to a $10,000 fine. On top of a criminal case, you could be facing a civil lawsuit from the victim's family, which is another thing you may have to defend yourself against.
If you're facing these charges, it's necessary to look at your case from the beginning to make sure it is handled correctly and without bias. Our website has more information on what you can do to protect yourself.